This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website you consent to all cookies in accordance with our Cookie Policy.

Some cookies on this site are essential, and the site won't work as expected without them. These cookies are set when you submit a form, login or interact with the site by doing something that goes beyond clicking on simple links.

We also use some non-essential cookies to anonymously track visitors or enhance your experience of the site. If you're not happy with this, we won't set these cookies but some nice features of the site may be unavailable.

Finding alternatives: the Dr. Tyczka Energy Award

The Dr. Tyczka Energy Award is presented annually by the Tyczka Energy Foundation, in conjunction with the  Technischen Universität München and the University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz.

The award is presented in the following categories:


Particularly for work on concepts for saving energy based on practical applications or those that have already been implemented.

Industrial gases

For work dealing with innovative applications of technical gases.

What is the award presented for?

Dissertations and theses from bachelor's or master's students which have developed ideas for environmentally friendly, decentralised energy generation, supply and application or innovative concepts for industrial gases.
Solely engineering scientific, energy technological, natural scientific or economical works, respectively works that contain a mix of the named subjects, will be considered.
Works in English language are also permitted, provided that as requested in the following passage, a 3-page summary in German language is included in the application.


The following must be submitted in German: 

  • Cover letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Summary of the project up to a maximum of three pages: brief description, degree of innovation, practical benefits, application areas, evidence of marks for work by university graduates

The jury reserves the right to access work from universities.
Download Verleihungsordnung
Download Ausschreibung

Please send all documents to:

Closing date

31st May of the current year

The jury

Dr. Hans-Wolfgang Tyczka – company founder and benefactor
Professor Dr.-Ing. Harald Klein – Technische Universität München 
Professor Dr.-Ing. Tobias Zschunke – University of Applied Sciences Zittau/Görlitz
Dr. Frank Götzelmann – executive of the Tyczka Energy Foundation
Dr.-Ing. Serafin von Roon – Forschungsstelle für Energiewirtschaft e.V.

The award

The total prize money of 5000 euros will be distributed among the winners at the discretion of the jury.

Presentation of the award

The winners of the awards will be notified in writing in July of that year. The awards are presented at a ceremony each year.